Get Help/Highwire News & Announcements/Announcements

Unsolicited calls from "Ecommerce Positioning"

Tomas
posted this on August 02, 2010 17:33

We have been advised that several Highwire customers have been targeted for Unsolicited calls from a company called Ecommerce Positioning offering SEO services. They are claiming to be working with Highwire store owners and that they have received a list of our customers from us. 

Rest assured we have not shared any information with other parties and they are obtaining email addresses and phone numbers from your public domain whois records. 

Please feel free to research several reviews and BBB report prior to making any decisions in subscribing to any services.

http://www.rateitall.com/i-2031626-ecommerce-positioning.aspx

 

Comments

User photo
myautooutfitters

Thanks for the heads up Tomas.

August 03, 2010 12:27.
User photo
glitterfulfeltstories

Thanks Tomas, I wish I had seen this before I took their call. They told me they were with highwire on my machine, and when I called them back they told me..."oh..no we are just calling in regards to highwire." Only after they wasted an hour of my time.

August 04, 2010 17:53.
User photo
jodiescamerastraps

They called me too, but the girl on the line was very unprofessional and when I told her I didn't need SEO help, she laughed - I quickly got off the line. I was annoyed with the call, but am glad to know Highwire isn't making unwanted calls.

August 05, 2010 12:32.
User photo
infinitebling

Does anyone want to supply the area code so I know if I should return the call?    Has highwire placed any calls regarding our account and set up?  I got one while on vacation.  Area code 425..

Thanks!

August 06, 2010 15:43.
User photo
jodiescamerastraps

from my caller ID

ECommerce Pos.

425-877-1765

August 06, 2010 16:23.
User photo
infinitebling

Yes,

that is one number!

The second was 425-977-1926

Thanks, saves me one item on my To do List!

August 06, 2010 16:34.
User photo
Fredsdolls

Tomas,

They very stronly imply that they are working with Highwire.  When I realized it was a sales scam I terminated the call.  Just my opinion, but you may want to consider a broadcast email to your customers.

Fred

August 07, 2010 03:46.
User photo
cottagehouseprimitives

I had a call a couple of days ago - same scenario.  I asked if they were part of highwire - they did say no.  Carol

August 07, 2010 11:12.
User photo
jenifersdesignercloset

I got the call myself.  They said they were from Highwire and needed to speak to me about the setup of my website.

August 09, 2010 08:18.
User photo
littleonlinestore

We've received many calls from them. I did tell them to take us off of their calling list, and I haven't received a call since.

August 09, 2010 11:32.
User photo
kindredkandles

Thank you for letting me know. I had several calls today from them I didn't answer but they left a few messages saying it reguarded my highwire account. the numbers were : 425-877-1755 & 425-949-8627

August 09, 2010 16:38.
User photo
chooriwala

They also called me, and left a message saying they were calling in regards to my highwire store, and needed to discuss my website admin with me. I assumed they were calling from highwire. They were pretty nice to me, but I was not happy that they were not up front about why they were really calling me, and how they misrepresented their company. 

August 09, 2010 18:01.
User photo
noedakis

One guy called me pressing me for backend information about my site. I dodged his calls and he became even more pushy. I got annoyed and hung up. To my surprise he called back and left a message! In the message he told me that I shouldn't be rude to someone trying to help me!!

August 09, 2010 21:36.
User photo
happyshoppershack

I got the call also.  When I asked if they were Highwire or a third party she made it sound like Highwire was affiliated with them. Pretty sneaky indeed. I told them that I was not interested and have not heard from them again. We are supposed to be on the no call list.

August 09, 2010 21:44.
User photo
littleonlinestore

Their number is Call us at: (866) 516-1735 in case anyone would like to call them to give them some harassment. They are charging ridiculous fees for some lame keyword packages. Can't believe anyone falls for their bs.

August 11, 2010 10:02.
User photo
littleonlinestore

Yeah, I'm starting to think that whole no call list is somewhat of a joke cause everyone I know that says they are on it still gets plenty of telemarketing calls. The system stinks.

August 12, 2010 13:09.
User photo
mexicanvanillas

Got the call also. Thank goodness for this message board!!

August 12, 2010 18:49.
User photo
mexicanvanillas

Got the call also. Thank goodness for this message board!!

August 12, 2010 18:52.
User photo
daysgonebuy

I got the call also.

 

August 15, 2010 10:34.
User photo
classiccarsplus

We've received many calls from them. I did tell them to take us off of their calling list, and I haven't received a call since

August 21, 2010 14:56.
User photo
imapaqrat

Thanks for the heads up, they had been calling me regularly. 

They called my non-cell phone and they think I'm going to answer or call them back?  Anybody that needs to get ahold of me knows my real number.

August 26, 2010 07:55.
User photo
ecpdefense

They contacted and tricked me into listening by stating they "Operate the back-end maintenance area of Highwire.com" and wanted to assist me in changing some "settings".  I finally caught on after listening a while and hung up.

August 30, 2010 04:47.
User photo
gomobilis

Thanks for posting and responding to our concerns about them. 

September 01, 2010 14:31.
User photo
thedogcabana

I have used ecommerce positioning for one of my other websites. I couldn't afford what they had to offer so they told me to try applying for PayPal. So, being new and excited about the whole thing, I did. They seemed very pushy. It ended up costing me $300 for them to post three tweets for me. Well, I think I could have done that myself?! Definetly a scam!!

September 03, 2010 16:18.
User photo
shopstoreusa

Tom, I received all call from them too. I would suggest for everyone to go to this site: http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt107.shtm

Q&A: The National Do Not Call Registry

Tell Me More About the National Do Not Call Registry

  1. Why would I register my phone number?

September 07, 2010 00:10.